Saturday , February 16 2019
Home / General News (page 243)

General News

Samuel Nartey George

Sam George wins Ningo-Prampram Constituency

Mr Samuel Nartey George has won the Ningo-Prampram parliamentary for the National Democratic Congress (NDC), reports Benjamin Xornam Glover. The 31-year-old agricultural engineer shrugged off a challenge from four other contenders to retain the seat for the NDC. It is the first time Mr Sam George will be serving in …

Read More »
Dr Okoe Boye, parliamentary elect for the Ledzokuku Constituency

Dr Okoe Boye unseats Sena Okity Duah in Ledzokuku

Scores of New Patriotic Party (NPP) supporters at the Ledzokuku Constituency in Accra have taken to the streets of Teshie to celebrate the triumph of Dr Bernard Okoe Boye as the new Member of Parliamentary (MP) for the area. Dr Okoe Boye defeated incumbent Mrs Benita Sena Okity Duah by …

Read More »
Nana Akufo-Addo

Akufo-Addo is in commanding lead with 5,441,642 votes – NPP

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) says its presidential candidate; Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has taken a commanding lead in Wednesday’s presidential poll with 5,441,642 votes, representing 53.79%. The figure, according to the party, was collated from the 27,577 pink sheets (representing 94.32%) declared at each polling station and submitted to …

Read More »
Jaman begins voting

Voting begins in Jaman North constituency

Voting has begun earnestly in the Jaman North constituency of the Brong Ahafo Region. Wednesday’s presidential and parliamentary polls were postponed by the Electoral Commission (EC) of Ghana to Thursday, December 8, 2016, following disagreements by the various political parties over the list of voters on the register. The failure …

Read More »
Pollster and Managing Editor of the Daily Dispatch newspaper, Ben Ephson

NPP supporters attack Ben Ephson

The residence of pollster and Managing Editor of the Daily Dispatch newspaper, Ben Ephson is under siege by persons suspected to be supporters of the New Patriotic Party. A team of policemen from the rapid deployment unit, (Formed ) are keeping  the guard at the Kanda residence of the pollster …

Read More »
Mrs Charlotte Osei, EC boss

EC dismisses NPP victory projections

The Electoral Commission has called on Ghanaians to keep calm following an announcement by the New Patriotic Party (NPP) indicating that the party has won the presidential elections per their projections. At a press conference Thursday morning, the Director of Elections, Mr Samuel Tettey said the Commission was yet to …

Read More »
National Campaign Manager of NPP, Mr Peter Mac Manu

NPP declares victory, wants Prez Mahama to concede

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) says it is on the way to win the 2016 general election and wants President John Mahama to concede ahead of the formal declaration of the results by the Electoral Commission. The National Campaign Manager of NPP, Mr Peter Mac Manu, urged President Mahama to …

Read More »
Majority Leader, Alban Sumana Bagbin

Bagbin retains Nadowli/Kaleo seat

Majority Leader, Alban Sumana  Bagbin is most certainly cruising to a comfortable win in the 2016 elections as provisional results has placed the veteran politician ahead in the tie. Results collated from most polling stations from the constituency has set the pace for Bagbin to retain his seat as the …

Read More »
Dr Bawumia (L) and Ambros Dery (R)

Provisional: Ambros Dery recaptures Nandom seat

Former minority leader Ambros Dery has recaptured the Nandom parliamentary  seat, provisional results have indicated. He has beaten the NDC’s  Dr. Mark Kurt Nawaane in the parliamentary contest. It is not yet clear the margin of victory. Mr. Dery lost the seat in 2012. He  served in two ministerial positions …

Read More »
New Patriotic Party flag

NPP wins Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese seat

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has won the Abura Asebu Kwamankese parliamentary seat in the Central region, according to provisional results. The NPP’s Elvis Morris Donkoh defeated the the governing National Democratic Congress’ (NDCs) Dr. Samuel Kweku Hayford, a lecturer at the University of Education, Winneba. The Abura/Asebu/Kwamankese seat is …

Read More »