Monday , March 1 2021
Home / General News / 108,080 to vote in two constituencies in Bolgatanga

108,080 to vote in two constituencies in Bolgatanga


HERE ARE 152 polling stations in the Bolgatanga East and Bolgatanga Central Constituencies in the Upper East Region from where 108,080 registered voters are expected to vote in the Presidential and Parliamentary elections on December 7.

In the Bolgatanga East Constituency, which was carved out of the then Bolgatanga Constituency in 2012, about 20,134 registered voters are expected to vote from 33 polling stations, which used to be 29, while 87,946 people are to vote in the Bolgatanga Central Constituency at 119 polling stations,  previously 112 .

The numbers of polling stations in both constituencies were increased to reduce long queues and avoid voting into the night.

Mr Oscar Apemah, acting Upper East Deputy Regional Director of the Electoral Commission, made this known in an interview with the Ghana News Agency in Bolgatanga.

On preparedness of the EC for the elections, he said all was set as ballot papers were ready for the voting day.

For the Bolgatanga East Constituency, Dr Dominic Ayine of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) who is the Deputy Attorney General, is the incumbent Member of Parliament and is being contested by Dr Emmanuel Abugri Aboole of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), and Mr Baba Starling Ayinenongma of the Progressive People’s Party, in the December 7 parliamentary election.

Records from the EC office in the region show that the Bolgatanga Central has, however, witnessed changes in the political landscape since 1992.

Mr Patrick Akake of the NDC won the seat to become the Member of Parliament (MP) but lost in the 1996 election to Mr Simon Anyoa Abingya.

In the year 2000, Mr David Apasera of the People’s National Congress (PNC) whisked the parliamentary seat away for a four-year term and in the 2004, Mr Opam Akuribire of the NDC emerged winner for the seat until 2012.

The Bolgatanga Central Constituency seat in the 2016 elections will be keenly contested by new people in the political race, namely Mr Isaac Adongo, an accountant who is standing on the ticket of the NDC, Mr Thomas Akurugu,a  chartered accountant, standing for the (PNC), Ms Latifa Abdul Rahman, for the CPP and  Mr Rex Asanga, a development worker, for the National Democratic Party.

About Benjamin Sapaning

Check Also

Teacher Professionalism – GNACOPS and NTC jointly issue certificate to Private School Teachers

  TO ENSURE teacher professionalism in private education in Ghana, officials of Ghana National Council …

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :